Posted on

Forum for India-Pacific Islands cooperation (FIPIC) is a multinational grouping developed in 2014 for cooperation betweenIndia and 14 Pacific Islands nations which include Cook IslandsFijiKiribatiMarshall IslandsMicronesiaNauruNiue,SamoaSolomon IslandsPalauPapua New GuineaTongaTuvalu and Vanuatu. All Head of state/head of government of the above countries met in Suva, Fiji in November 2014 for the first time where the annual summit was conceptualised.


India to host meeting of 14 Pacific island nations

India will host the heads of 14 island nations at the Forum for India-Pacific Islands Cooperation (FIPIC)

Most of economies in the region are based on agriculture, fisheries and small-scale industries where India has considerable strength.

India tries to check China which has significantly expanded its foothold in the region in terms of business, trade and diplomacy.

India’s strong relations with Fiji, which has considerable influence in the region, could help counter the growing Chinese influence.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s